Viva Cataluña Libre! …Or How Spain Just Walked Where Autocracies Wanted

Nadin Brzezinski
5 min readMay 24, 2024
Spanish Minister of Labor and Social Policy Yolanda Díaz

Deputy Prime Minister of Spain: “We cannot stop here. Palestine will be free, from the river to the sea”
Israel News IL — on Telegram

A few months ago, I wrote what the recognition of a Palestinian state could look like. I also wrote why that would ultimately not be good for Palestinians. I made assumptions about de facto control of the land, physical walls, and a civil war in the West Bank. Mind you, all this is still in the cards.

This is why we need both Israel and Palestinian leaders to sit down in good faith. I am not a fan of Benjamin Netanyahu and his pronouncements on negotiations. However, he comes from five significant efforts to reach a final settlement and a two-state solution. The world seems to forget that. The most recent are 2000 and 2008.

However, Spanish Deputy Prime Minster Yolanda Díaz went much further than this recognition. First, I must say this: I am not a lawyer. But I covered American courts for a few years and became utterly familiar with the concept of precedent. I also took coursework in international law, just enough to make me conversant enough with the subject matter to understand this is one hell of a problematic precedent. Yes, international law is highly dependent on precedent.

Deputy Prime Minister Diaz de-recognized the State of Israel in a very de facto form. Immediate…

--

--

Nadin Brzezinski

Historian by training. Former day to day reporter. Sometimes a geek who enjoys a good miniatures game. You can find me at CounterSocial, Mastodon and rarely FB